• Register
  • Help

Topic: Finale HP, Solo String Keyswitch and unwanted behavior

Share/Bookmark

Unhappy Finale HP, Solo String Keyswitch and unwanted behavior

Hi,
    I am not a newbie to GPO, Finale or computers in general. That is probably what got me into the trouble i am in. I have Finale 2008 with all the new updates, which are registered and generally work great.
    My issue is that I am writing a string quartet, and the keyswitch solo strings are doing things I don't want, and I am having trouble resetting my score after it gets messed up.

Here is an example:
    My Viola has a trill smart shape over a few quarter notes and eighth notes. The tempo is at 60 bps. Right after these simple trills, I have a measure of quarter notes and some dynamic markings like mf and a cresc hairpin. The issue is that the viola still trills these notes. They are in a different measure and the trill shape doesn't extend over any of them. Then the measure after that, in the second beat, the viola stops doing it. I tried deleteing the measure, adding new notes, removing the dynamics. Still nothing. Then I added a new expression that is set to hp off, and the trill went away, but so did any interesting dynamic ideas. When I turn HP back on for that measure, the trill thing happens again.
    please advise. I have a BIG EXPENSIVE deadline, and this ain't funny!
    thanks,
    Georg

Re: Finale HP, Solo String Keyswitch and unwanted behavior

Hi Georg

1) What shape are you using for the trill? Is it the wavey line? If so, try using the tr expression instead.
    2) If that does not work/suit, use a hidden 'arco' expression when the trill is supposed to end, rather than turning HP off all together.

If you're still having problems, try posting a link to the file (or an excerpt) either here or at the Finale forums for someone to have a look at it.

Cheers...