• Register
  • Help

Topic: The new guy... and Your first computer

The new guy... and Your first computer

Hello everyone! My name is aaron and I am new to Northern Sounds.
    I have had a look around and it seems there is an amazing group of people on here dedicated to making great music/sounds and I look forward to talking with everyone on here for many years to come!

Along with this first post I would like to ask a question.. Drum roll

What was your "First" music computer set up

and how does it differ from your current music set up?

Re: The new guy... and Your first computer

My first setup was an off the shelf machine (PII-400MHz, 128MB RAM) with a Yamaha SW1000XG card, and two Creamware Pulsar cards. The cards went into a Soundcraft mixer, which fed my hi-fi amp. Input was through a horrid little 49key controller, with no weighting.

Now I have a small LAN of three machines, connected by FX-Teleport (to be 4 in September) that looks like this:-

Machine 1:
    Quad Core, 4GB RAM, Echo Layla card, CME UF8 Keyboard, Trigger Finger, Line6 PODXT

Cubase4, FL Studio7, Sibelius4, Sound Forge7, NI Komplete3
    Vienna Elements, Brass I+II, Concert Guitar
    EWQLSC, RA, Strad, Gofriller, GPO, Various Kontakt Libraries
    Cameleon5000, GMedia Synths

Machine 2:
    P4-3GHz, 2GB RAM

Vienna Strings I+II, Percussion
    EWQLSC, Gofriller, Strad, JABB, Sounds of Polynesia, Kong Audio Instruments, Other Kontakt Libraries

Machine 3:
    P4-3GHz, 2GB RAM

Vienna Woodwind I+II, Special Keyboards

C64 - I wrote a custom sequencer that would be triggered by the joystick. I then wired up my Boss DR110 drum machine's accent port to trigger the joystick port of the c64.

Now: Intel E4400 w/Audiophile 24/96. XP Pro w/Sonar & Kontakt.

Hi Aaron and welcome to NorthernSounds!

My first computer was a 100MHz Pentium running MusicTime Deluxe. I made midi files.

Now I'm using a dual core laptop to run Sonar, Overture, and quite a few sample libraries.