• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: What software do you use for film scores

Share/Bookmark

What software do you use for film scores

What software do you use for recording and applying music to film and gaming
    and why?

Re: What software do you use for film scores

I am a DP user. Very workable with film, especially Quicktime movies. The user interface makes it a breeze, especially with DPs, streamers and hits function along with markers.

I just completed a commercial using DP and I have to say it was very intuitive!

Peace

rp

I'm a Logic Pro guy. I work with DP composers who speak very highly of it, and it certainly has features I'd like to see in Logic. Logic's advantages from where I sit:

1. More CPU friendly when running loads of VI's.
    2. Broader collection of plugins (both VI's and processing).
    3. Logic seems more customizable.
    4. Vastly improved user interface in Logic 8.
    5. While it's getting long in the tooth, I think EXS24 is still one of the cleanest, most CPU efficient sampler plugins.

DP features I'd love to see in Logic:

1. Chunks - or something like it.
    2. Conductor track. I haven't used it, but it seems to be a more elegant method of nailing hit points than Logic's tempo editor...although I think Logic's method works just fine.
    3. Streamers, punches, flutters and clicks in Quicktimes - plus multiple Quicktimes in a project.
    4. Overall audio editing functionaltiy - Logic's major weakness.

i use DP. GUI, chunks and V-rack

I am on pc and really want to try Dp and logic really bad and have for a while.
    I plan on doing film work so I want to get the right setup that will transfer to different systems for the video/audio end of things..
    Nuendo for pc maybe?

Although I haven't tried that aspect of it, Sonar does interface with video and there are a large number of Sonar users who have been successful. You might pop in over at the Sonar forum and either lurk or ask for help here.
    Jerry