• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Help choosing a sequencer..

Share/Bookmark

Help choosing a sequencer..

Hi,
    could any of you sequencer wizards out there point me in the right direction. i'm looking to purchase either sonar or cubase for a sequencer, i'm new to digital music and sequencers so wouldn't want anything to exhausting on the learning curve. i'm a one man band will be working mainly with a digital piano, VSTs plugins, orchestral libraries etc.. but am looking to produce pro music for commercial sale, any tips guys..

Musicmad

Re: Help choosing a sequencer..

Hi, I am using Sonar 7 Producer's Edition and don't have any experience with Cubase to be able to compare the two. There is a website called the Digital Music Doctor where there are comparions of all the major programs.
    Also there are learning tutorials there for all the programs. Here are links to some demos of the tutorials for Sonar:
    http://www.digitalmusicdoctor.com/so.../Web_Menu.html

and for Cubase:
    http://www.digitalmusicdoctor.com/cu.../Web_Menu.html

I sure someone here will weigh in soon. John

Hi bigears, thanks for this excellent link, this was a great help, thanks man

Musicmad

Here's a bit older thread talking about sequencers, maybe you find some help there too.

http://www.northernsounds.com/forum/...ight=sequencer

My question: Which scoring program, Finale; Sibelius; or ? would import Midi files from DP most efficiently on a Mac, and which is the easiest to tweak and has the shortest learning curve?

Thanks in advance,

Ern
    I have used Finale since 1994. It has a little bit of a learning curve, but as with most programs these days, it also has an enthusiastic user group who could help with questions. Since you are using it strictly for engraving, you can ignore all the gripes that come up about problems with Human Playback, etc. It really is quite a remarkable program once you learn it.