• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Topic: Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    183

    Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message

    It is so strange.

    I have upgraded to an AMD XP1800+ with 512MB DDR ram and I cannot even load a single instrument from the Dan Dean solo woodwinds or brass library even with nothing else loaded! The message error reads:

    \"Error Code 5 - There was a problem with the Gigastudio file. Unable to allocate the memory required to download the instrument\"

    The CPU is sitting at 5% and no other instruments are loaded. I have Gigastudio loaded on a separate HD drive to the giga files. (C and E drives)

    Can anyone suggest something to solve this problem? For example, the french horn patch I am trying to load is only 5MB, and with nothing else loaded, it is unable to load due to insufficient memory.

    Thanks in advance

    Mark

  2. #2

    Re: Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message

    What OS version?
    What are you [vcache] settings?
    If Win98SE, have you performed optimizations as notated in previous threads?

    also, what versino of GS?

    Do any other sounds load from other libraries AOK?

    DId you run the sysmonitor utilities to see if memory is free (find in accessories)?

    Could be a corrupt file, did you try loading back from CDROM?



    [This message has been edited by composer22 (edited 04-07-2002).]

  3. #3

    Re: Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message

    also, what versino of GS?

    Do any other sounds load from other libraries AOK?

    DId you run the sysmonitor utilities to see if memory is free (find in accessories)?


  4. #4

    Re: Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message

    I agree with composer22...it sounds like a vcache setting issue....


    Donnie

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    183

    Re: Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message

    Thanks for your replies Composer22 and Donnie - and sorry to have been a bit vague before.

    I am now using Windows 2000 Pro and version 2.5 of GS.

    I think it is a problem with vcache too although have no idea how to change the vcache settings without messing everything up!


  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    183

    Re: Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message

    OS Name Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional
    System Manufacturer VIA694
    Processor x86 Family 6 Model 6
    Total Physical Memory 523,760 KB
    Available Physical Memory 278,152 KB
    Total Virtual Memory 1,802,876 KB
    Available Virtual Memory 1,376,740 KB
    Page File Space 1,279,116 KB

    [This message has been edited by Mark UK (edited 04-07-2002).]

  7. #7

    Re: Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message

    Check out these pages:
    http://www.prorec.com/prorec/articles.nsf/articles/45BEB3250308114E86256A7F007D8FA4
    http://www.tascam.com/products/computer_recording/W2k_XP_Optimize.pdf

    You shouldn\'t have to set vcache, but you may want to try and find taht parm.

    What other apps do you have installed on the machine? Do you have any services running such as virus software?

    Are you up to date with drivers, OS updates and the like?

    Disable everything except what is important. Look at the bootlog for driver installations, failures etc.

    Hard to do long distance...could be hardware...software...bad files...etc etc


  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    183

    Re: Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message

    It seems that this problem might have actually been due to a damaged ram chip.

    The techie guys are taking a look at it today and will let me know.

    Thanks to all who offered suggestions.

  9. #9

    Re: Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message


    Hi Mark!
    I have the same problem, Error 5 etc., it happens at 48% RAM-Usage, no matter which files are loaded.
    I also use Win2000, Giga-Version 2.5 with 1.5 Gig RAM.
    I don´t think that there´s anything wrong with my RAM, because there are no comparable mistakes with any other applications.
    Do you have any news considering this problem?

  10. #10

    Re: Dan Dean Libraries and Error Code 5 message

    I also have this problem 1.5gb XP P4...

    Mine occurs randomly when I load a file or when I go over the 92% mark.

    Giga is saying i am 92% full yet msinfo32.exe says I have around 400 mb free or 26%. Pleae see if you get same differences when you run giga and load files.

    I played around with IoPageLockLimit in registry, but this didnt help. You can try and see if that helps

    BKR

Go Back to forum
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •