• Register
  • Help

Topic: Time for a Change - Blues Piece with JABB

Time for a Change - Blues Piece with JABB

Forum Members,

This is my first post on this forum. It is a bit of a departure from the lovely orchestral work that I have been listening to (and learning from) over the past several months. It's my first attempt at arranging brass with JABB and I would like your comments on the arrangement.

It's a blues tune called, "Time for a Change" that I wrote in 1989. We played it live with a four piece rock group back then, but it always needed horns!!!

In this arrangement I have a brass ensemble in one instance of KP2.

3 trumpets (all trumpet 1 with variations in cc26 & cc27 controllers) (note:didn't like the others for this arrangement)
    2 tenor saxes (1&2), 1 bari sax (1) and 1 bass sax (1)
    3 trombones (1, 2 & 3)

I also have a solo sax (tenor 1) and solo trumpet (1) in another instance.

I've studied the Jazz arranging tutorials and have diligently avoided 5th in the brass harmonies. But I would love your opinions on the brass harmonies. Also, I feel the arrangement is a bit stiff and after loads of tweaking, I am at a loss on how to "cool" it up, so to speak.

The trumpet shakes still needs work as I am having trouble finding the sweet spot between the portomento, attack and length controllers to get a softer snap between notes.

Reverb is Perfect Space in Sonar PE 7. Drums are EZD Nashville. Bass is Dimension Pro. Acoustic is a Taylor 414. There is also a strat and Gretch in the background on rhythm and those $10 chicken egg shakes.

Thanks for listening.

Bellingham, WA

Re: Time for a Change - Blues Piece with JABB

"Fools rush in where angels fear to tread"
    "There's no fool like an old fool"
    With my introduction out of the way, I will offer my opinions, which you are free to totally ignore.