• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Help with bit depth sample rates..

Share/Bookmark

Help with bit depth sample rates..

Hi all,

Ok i'm sure this topic has been talked about a lot, but being new to digital music, i would still like to get some more views on it.
    (Bit depth sample rates) if recording audio at 24bit/96k, but the final burn is at 16bit/44.1 (due to red book standard media), would not the quality in the 24bit/96k recording be lost??

MM

Re: Help with bit depth sample rates..

I AM NO EXPERT but I believe processing and working with the audio in 24bit/96k helps minimize artifacts and distortion before it is finally mixed to 16/44.1.
    In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is.

http://reberclark.blogspot.com http://reberclark.bandcamp.com http://www.youtube.com/reberclark

Why should you do that, while the samples themselves are just 16 bits/44.1

Raymond

Something ive often wondered. I would have thought upping the sample quality to 24bit would introduce the possibility of artifacts.....

Problem for me is that my deliverables all need to be 24bit/48Hz....anyone know what sample rate and bit depth the new sample libraries for ARIA will be? and if the GPO upgrade will be upgraded to 24/48 too?

Ben

Quote Originally Posted by reberclark View Post
    I AM NO EXPERT but I believe processing and working with the audio in 24bit/96k helps minimize artifacts and distortion before it is finally mixed to 16/44.1.
    That`s the reason. Ever work at the highest level your daw can do, so you get the best results.

After processing, working and mixing you must use a good ditheringtool to transform your high format into CD 16 / 44,1 .
    "Music is the shorthand of emotion." Leo Tolstoy

Listen to me, tuning my triangle http://www.box.net/shared/ae822u6r3i

Thanks everyone, for all your replies, cheers

musicmad