• Register
  • Help

Topic: Good ol' fashioned lost

Share/Bookmark

Question Good ol' fashioned lost

Got Gofriller Solo Cello in the mail today.

Problem: Kontakt 2 VST crashes Cubase SX 3.1.1 when selected. Cubase goes dead then BSOD follows

Edit: The Standalone Kontakt Player works ok

But before I get BSOD, I'm able to bring up task manager to attempt to end Cubase (task manager takes 5 minutes to appear). It says my CPU usage is 100% ... How can that be? I'm by no means a techie so maybe someone can help me out here.

In my research before posting, I was able to ascertain that there are supposedly "issues" with using Kontakt 2 as a VST with Cubase. I wasn't able to find specifics as to what the issues were however.

Installation went fine. My DAW isn't connected online. I'm going through the offline activation process which has hit a snag. Is that a problem maybe?

Note - GS3 is not running at the same time. Only Cubase

Sys Specs

Motherboard - ASUS P4C800-E DELUXE CANTERWOOD
    Processor - Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor Prescott 3.2GHz, 800MHz FSB, Socket 478
    RAM - (2) Corsair VS1GBKIT400 1GB Kit DDR400 PC3200
    Videocard - VGA ATIOEM|RADEON 9200SE 128M DDRTV
    Audio Interface - Echo MIA MIDI Digital Audio and MIDI Card
    C:/ (1) 80GB Seagate HD - OS & other crap
    D:/ (1) 120GB Seagate HD - Samples

Software -

Windows XP Pro SP2
    GigaStudio Orchestra 3.04
    Cubase SX3.1.1

Re: Good ol' fashioned lost

Quote Originally Posted by MayorPeete View Post
    Got Gofriller Solo Cello in the mail today.

Problem: Kontakt 2 VST crashes Cubase SX 3.1.1 when selected. Cubase goes dead then BSOD follows

Edit: The Standalone Kontakt Player works ok
    When you say "Kontakt 2... crashes", do you really the "Kontakt 2 Player VST" or the (Full) Kontakt 2 product?

In either case, my only suggestion would be to download the most current version of the sample engine:
    -- Kontakt 2 v2.2.4
    -- Kontakt Player 2 v2.2.4