• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Help with new pc rig..

Share/Bookmark

Help with new pc rig..

Hi could anyone help,
    i'm customizing my own PC for music production basically from the ground up, would be looking to have the best of this / that etc, decent memory moduals, decent PCI soundcard, decent graphics card etc. the processor will be intels core 2 duo, not the quad, the core is good enough for my needs, will also be looking at 3 hard drives, 120 gigs for each drive, giving me 360 gigs of ram, should be good enough for the DAW and all those plugins / stored data etc. finally, would want a decent cooling solution, would'nt want the console over heating etc, i'm assuming the CPU fan will come bundled with the processor itself, if not would need a decent CPU fan also. my chosen platform of choice would be W-XP-SP2-32bit, finally a decent mobo, considering all the above, what motherboard would be compatible for all of this, i'm a solo composer working with one instrument an VST plugins.. budget not an issue

Cheers
    Musicmad

Re: Help with new pc rig..

Here's a couple of first impressions:

Go with the quad processor. You say budget isn't an issue, and even if you don't need all the power right now, you can consider it as future-proofing for when you do need the extra oomph

Why only 120gb HD's? Much more space is available for not that much more money, and as you acquire more libraries and/or start recording more and more audio, you'll use up that extra space in a hurry.

Next, 3 x 120gb HD's does NOT equal 360GB of RAM. HD's are storage space. RAM is a totally separate component. I compare it to a kitchen where your HD's are the pantry and the amount of RAM is your countertop space. I'd go ahead and put in 4gb of RAM and utilize the Large Address Aware switch to take as much advantage of it as possible.

For cooling, I've always had good experiences with Zalman products. Very effective and very quiet.