• Register
  • Help

Topic: What are your score study methods?

What are your score study methods?

Re: What are your score study methods?

I do just the same. What else to tell you. Maybe thinking about how to perform it being a conductor.

Hi jon.

It depends on what exactly I'm studying, but in general I will find a recording, and listen to it at least twice before I even touch the score. THEN I will pick up the score and follow along with the recording, marking cadences and obvious points of change as I come to them. Then depending on what I'm studying and why I may do a formal analysis, which will either include a complete harmonic analysis, or an analysis just at the begining and ending of phrases and sections; it depends on what my purpose is. Of course if its a 20th century peice and harmonic analysis isn't pertinent I may attempt to analyzie a tone row or a basic set or whatever is nessecary.

After that, it all just sort of starts to unravel.

Make sure you at least try to attempt to copy what you've learned by writing a sort piece or exert. Its one thing to study a history book and highlight important passages, and another thing to then take a test explaining what you've learned. For us musicians, writing music is the test of knowledge.

Two small suggestions:

1) I think scores are practically sacred and never write in them. But if you have access to a photocopier (perhaps when the boss isn't looking) you can make multiple copies of each page and scribble away to your heart's content.