• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Aunt Irene

Share/Bookmark

Aunt Irene

This is one of my first ever compositions that actually was written down and not just played. I started this a couple of years ago in Notepad, Played with it some in sib4, then again in sib 5. I took the midi from sib5 and played with it in Sonar home studio and then again in Sonar 7 Studio.

About halfway thru this process, my Aunt Irene passed on and this piece became dedicated to her. That was last summer.

This is my first time doing any kind of changes to the midi with the pencil tool, so I know that this can still be improved upon.

The original piece is over 13 minutes long. This is a condensed version at 6 minutes.

Here it is.

http://www.box.net/shared/6aah0dtwk0

Thanks to Jon for helping me get Sonar working right and to Ron for getting Sibelius to do what I wanted it to do.

Ron

Re: Aunt Irene

Hi Ron,

This is one of your first pieces??? Wow! I'm even more impressed!

I don't know if the Far East flavor was an intentional thing here, but some of the idiomatic devices of that genre (parallel fourths/fifths, all that pentatonic stuff, etc.) was very evident to me, and suits your compositional style very, very well. I particularly liked the beginning to the second section, and the subsequent rhythmic intensity in the melodic lines -- yet it all still sounded appropriately gentle and flowing. Some really, really nice flute stuff in there... I'll have to play this one for my wife later (an excellent flute player, flautist, whatever they call those people...). She'll love this.

Your technical work within Sonar is also first rate; everything sounded great mixing/rendering-wise (the very ending got clipped off just a tiny bit I think. Take a listen... it might just be the way it played back for me.).

Kudos again, Ron!

Danny

Danny