• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Is GPO Simple?

Is GPO Simple?

Hi there,

I'm new to orchestrating, and very new to GPO. I started working with synthesizers in FL Studio 6 Demo version about a year ago. Recently I was suggested GPO only a few months ago by ZREO's FireGS.

My question is this, Is Garritan Personal Orchestra simple to use? What is the interface like?

I'm asking this because before I put out $200 for a program, I would like to know what I'm getting, and how it works. And unfortunately, GPO can't have free trials.

So would anyone post screenshots, ect of how the interface works?

Thanks in advance,

p.s. Sorry if my wording is strange, I am totally new to the GPO scene and I didn't know what to say, especially considering I'm working with different software.

Re: Is GPO Simple?

Hi Mooshykris,

GPO really is simple to use. It is pretty worthless though to publish screenshots because the instruments are played via a range of different tools and interfaces.

The key thing with GPO is using the various CC controllers to vary the timbre and other aspects of dynamics.

It really is extremely simple. You will not be disappointed!

First, welcome to this community. Let me try to explain a couple of things about GPO.
    GPO is a virtual instrument, that means it's a box that listens to MIDI commands and outputs an audio signal depending on the commands and the instrument chosen.
    You have two basic methods for controlling GPO:
    1) A MIDI keyboard attached to your computer. Then GPO performs what you play.
    2) MIDI commands entered via software. For this, you need a sequencer (Logic, Sonar, Cubase...) or a notation program (Finale, Sibelius,...)

So if GPO is easy to use, depends on what are you going to do with it, and what programs you will be using.