• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Topic: Question about pedals for Steinway

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    152

    Question Question about pedals for Steinway

    Folks, the Steinway manual mentions:
    " Please refer to the Garritan website for recommendations of keyboards and pedals that may be suitable for the Authorized Steinway Virtual Concert Grand Piano"

    What pedals are recommended? I'm especially interested in pedals that support proportional pedaling?

    Thanks so much in advance!

  2. #2

    Re: Question about pedals for Steinway

    Hello

    I've been using a CME GPP-3 pedal board

    http://www.cme-pro.com/products-list/product-gpp.html

    Which does CC67/66/64 (with variable 64) for a while now, but it took TWO firmware updates for the pedals to behave (it randomly lost its CC mappings and sent CC127 ) So while it works ok now, im a bit reluctant to strongly advise it.

    However the build quality feels good to me (sturdy wood base). so once you are past the firmware oddness (might not even be a problem for new units), it feels good to me.

    There is one very important caveat... im not a professional piano player

    More info from another post of mine here:
    http://www.northernsounds.com/forum/...ad.php?t=53866
    David Viens, Plogue Art et Technologie Inc.
    Montreal. http://www.plogue.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    458

    Re: Question about pedals for Steinway

    Quote Originally Posted by David (plogue) View Post
    Hello

    I've been using a CME GPP-3 pedal board

    http://www.cme-pro.com/products-list/product-gpp.html

    Which does CC67/66/64 (with variable 64) for a while now, but it took TWO firmware updates for the pedals to behave (it randomly lost its CC mappings and sent CC127 ) So while it works ok now, im a bit reluctant to strongly advise it.

    However the build quality feels good to me (sturdy wood base). so once you are past the firmware oddness (might not even be a problem for new units), it feels good to me.

    There is one very important caveat... im not a professional piano player

    More info from another post of mine here:
    http://www.northernsounds.com/forum/...ad.php?t=53866
    Mine should be here today, so I'll let you know. It was $99, I think a reasonable price. Let's hope the firmware is up-to-date.

    Keith Walls

  4. #4
    Senior Member bigears's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    1,053

    Re: Question about pedals for Steinway

    Thanks David, I posted a similar question in the "Tips & Techniques" section. This helps me regarding the CME pedal. So this pedal will work with the proportional pedalling aspect of the Steinway? John
    Here is a link to an explanation of the pedals on the Grand Piano that may be of interest: http://www.jeffreychappell.com/pedaling.htm

  5. #5

    Re: Question about pedals for Steinway

    Quote Originally Posted by bigears View Post
    Thanks David, I posted a similar question in the "Tips & Techniques" section. This helps me regarding the CME pedal. So this pedal will work with the proportional pedalling aspect of the Steinway?
    Yes, again, once the pedal is working. Steinway currently treats CC64 like this
    CC64 valule = 0 : sample not sustained
    CC64 value = 1 to 127 -> sample is sustained and sustain resonance is applied gradually.
    David Viens, Plogue Art et Technologie Inc.
    Montreal. http://www.plogue.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    458

    Re: Question about pedals for Steinway

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithW View Post
    Mine should be here today, so I'll let you know. It was $99, I think a reasonable price. Let's hope the firmware is up-to-date.

    Keith Walls
    Update- I just got my pedals and they work just fine out of the box (I'm hooked up USB, but I assume they would work fine in standard MIDI attachment mode.)

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Orcas Island
    Posts
    11,454

    Re: Question about pedals for Steinway

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithW View Post
    Update- I just got my pedals and they work just fine out of the box (I'm hooked up USB, but I assume they would work fine in standard MIDI attachment mode.)
    You are lucky Keith.

    I just spoke to the distributor of the GPP-3 and they are out of stock. They do not expect another shipment for another month. The new version due out will be improved and also work with more models of keyboards.

    Perhaps we can put together a list of those wanting this pedal and arrange a group but at a discount (maybe around $75 each). Let me know if you are interested and I'll try to arrange it.

    Best,

    Gary Garritan

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    458

    Re: Question about pedals for Steinway

    Quote Originally Posted by Garritan View Post
    You are lucky Keith.

    I just spoke to the distributor of the GPP-3 and they are out of stock. They do not expect another shipment for another month. The new version due out will be improved and also work with more models of keyboards.

    Perhaps we can put together a list of those wanting this pedal and arrange a group but at a discount (maybe around $75 each). Let me know if you are interested and I'll try to arrange it.

    Best,

    Gary Garritan
    I got mine from Guitar Center. They were in stock last week. But that was before the Garritan Steinway hordes started wanting them.

  9. #9

    Re: Question about pedals for Steinway

    Quote Originally Posted by Garritan View Post
    Perhaps we can put together a list of those wanting this pedal and arrange a group but at a discount (maybe around $75 each). Let me know if you are interested and I'll try to arrange it.
    I would be interested, but I suspect the shipping from the US would make the thing about four times more expensive than just buying it full price from Dolphin Music here in the UK.
    David

  10. #10

    Re: Question about pedals for Steinway

    Quote Originally Posted by Pingu View Post
    I would be interested, but I suspect the shipping from the US would make the thing about four times more expensive than just buying it full price from Dolphin Music here in the UK.
    How about $50

    Then pingu can join the party.

Go Back to forum

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •