• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Newbie - Please Advise

Share/Bookmark

Cool Newbie - Please Advise

Hello All!

I am completely new to all of this and had a few questions.

Besides Garritan Personal Orchestra is there anything that you would need to create decent sounded mp3's? Other software or anything? I think I also want to get Reason at some point, but want to start out using GPO, is that possible?

I create ambient/meditation/new age style music on piano usually, and I want to expand. I'm attracted to the GPO because I love the sound that I hear from the different samples and demo's.

I appreciate any advice.

Many Thanks,
    Tony

Re: Newbie - Please Advise

Hi Tony,
    WELCOME to this great forum!

GPO is a great small investment, and even if you buy other libraries, you will always come back to GPO for many things.
    Because of it's design, it will allow you to make "mockups" of your music very quickly, and if you take the time to do some editing, the results can be extremely satisfying.

In the event that you do purchase a Garritan library or two, you will definately want to "hang out" on the Garritan portion of this forum.
    It can be found here

Dan

Yes, welcome. To be clear, GPO is a sample library and if you want to create MIDI compositions with it, you'll need a sequencing program such as Cakewalk or Cubase (on PC) or Logic or Digital Performer on the Mac. You can roughly equate the two pieces of software as Word Processor (Cakewalk, Cubase, etc.) and Font library (GPO). Are you at all familiar with the world of MIDI - keyboards, interfaces, etc.? Forgive all the questions, but you did state that you're completely new to all this, and there might be more to "all this" than you're currently aware of. It certainly can grow on you in a big hurry.

So, having said all that, ask away and we'll do our best to get you pointed in the right direction.
    Paul Baker
    Baker's Jazz And More
    Austin, Texas, USA