• Register
  • Help

Topic: Key switches to control release times? can anyone help?

Share/Bookmark

Key switches to control release times? can anyone help?

Hi am new to Kontakt and to creating sampled instruments in general and wondered if some one could help me. Like I say I am new to this so am not completely sure about some of the terms I am using.

I am having some trouble trying to get the results from kontakt 2 that I want. I've recently created a sample library of my universities Javanese Gamelan. For the metallphone instruments in the Gamelan I have used ADSR envelopes as a modulator to amplifier in kontakt. I've used the longest sustain, decay and release times so that the samples play for full duration when the corresponding midi not is triggered, regardless of how long the key is held down. So far I have set the mod-wheel to control the release times.

Here is what I am trying to achieve:
    When a note is struck it continues to ring out until another note on the instrument is struck. When the latter note is struck the previous notes release is triggered so that the note is dampened.

I have a feeling that this could be done by using groups to set each note as keyswitch to the others, which controls release time but I'm really not sure.

If anyone has any suggestions that would be great. Thank you

Re: Key switches to control release times? can anyone help?

If you try the drums on a general midi kit, when to hit the open hihat the sound dies away slowly, but if you immediately follow it with a pedal hihat the sound is cut off. It is my understanding that this is called a choke. Instruments are grouped so that when any member of the group is played, any other member of the group is silenced, or choked. As far as I know it usually only applies on drum tracks, although I have had trouble with a bass sound ringing too long when played legato.