• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: The "Bigears trio" at the Cafe Insomnie

Share/Bookmark

(new version) The "Bigears trio" at the Cafe Insomnie

Hello, I was inspired by the Gershwin piece Tom posted (excellent!) and I am still trying to nail the jazz trio sound. On this piece written by George Gershwin I have rendered some MIDI using the Authorized Steinway with the Under Lid perspective. I have recently acquired "The Bass" from Bardstown Audio, and it is now used on this piece. I am still learning the many tweaks necessary to coax the right sound from these samples. Drums are played through the EZdrummer plug-in.
    I did this one in Sonar, bounced the tracks to wav in realtime, converted to MP3 at 192 Kb/s.
    I'm very interested in your comments, tips, and criticisms on this piece. I hope this one is enjoyed. John (bigears)
    "Our Love Is Here To Stay"
    http://www.box.net/shared/rz6viidk4g
    Last edited by bigears; 06-11-2008 at 10:15 AM. Reason: changed link

Re: The "Bigears trio" at the Cafe Insomnie

Quote Originally Posted by bigears View Post
    I'm very interested in your comments, tips, and criticisms on this piece. I hope this one is enjoyed. John (bigears)
    Comments: Really great sound.
    Tips: None
    Criticisms: None - except the bass is slightly light - maybe this system - don't know. Slight volume changes in the bass - but nothing of any consequence.

I could listen to a whole album of this all day - but please don't ask me anything about jazz - have no idea of how it works.

John,

Great playing; wonderful light swinging feel. Only criticism: For me, the drums are too loud. Sounds like I'm sitting closer to the drummer than the piano. Especially the ride cym and high hat...

John:

Absolutely great playing. If this is out of your head, it is even
    more magnificent. I think your back procedure let some more
    talent in............lol

I think the bass is really great, the balance fantastic, and, of