• Register
  • Help

Topic: Chord recognition

Share/Bookmark

Chord recognition

Is there a program out there that lets me hold down X number of keys on my MIDI keyboard, after which the program interprets the keys I'm holding and then tells me which (if any) chord, the keys make up?

Example:
    If I hold down C, E and G, the program responds "C major"
    If I hold down D, F, A and C instead, the program responds "D minor7".
    etc.

I'm new to orchestral music and am currently studying note sheets for learning purposes, for example the note sheet for Holst's "Venus, the Bringer of Peace". But it's a nightmare trying to figure out which chords are played in a piece of music. Right now I'm trying to look up each chord in "The Keyboardist's Picture Chord Encyclopedia"!

Thanks.

Best regards,
    Henrik

Re: Chord recognition

I do know that Logic does that for you, to a point, when you are inputting MIDI info. You are much better off just sticking it out and learning the chords and voicings etc. You will learn so much more when you start to study scores.

Keep at it! It will pay off!

Peace

Rikp

Ah! Cubase 4 has a GREAT chord recognition function (in the Key Editor). You place the cursor over any number of simultaniously playing notes, after which Cubase tells you which chord they make up.

That's what I need! Then I can input the notes from the score I'm studying into Cubase, place the cursor over them, and voila, I'm told which chord it is! Plus, I can hear the chord at the same time too.

Thanks for the tip!

Best regards,
    Henrik

Careful here.. Most music is filled with tones that are not necessarily part of the harmony as written and fulfill simple melodic functions.. cubase won't be able to differentiate between non-harmonic tones and harmonic tones so you may end up getting more complicated chords than are actually there.