• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Gauss and Quadratic Reciprocity (mod 521)

Gauss and Quadratic Reciprocity (mod 521)

I studied very hard for a final in Number Theory this semester. I knew walking in to take that test that I would ace it, but when I sat down to take the exam, I went totally blank. I couldn't remember any of the needed equations and the few that I did, I couldn't remember which variable went where. So I spent tons of time in the exam deriving formulas from scratch and ended up running out of time.

10 minutes after the exam was over and I was in my car driving home, I remembered everything I needed to Ace the test. But it was too late. I did horribly on the test and received my first non-A since being back in college. Bottom line is I no longer have a 4.0 average. Bummer.

When I got home, I started this piece and within 2 hours had the first 3 minutes of this done. The next day I finished it up.

The instruments are GPO, JABB and a couple of others.

The piano is all me (and the GPO Steinway), although I did remove a few notes due to my clumsy fingers. You can guess what Piano I wish I had, but being a poor college student, cannot afford it yet.

Normally I can play a piece on the piano once and never repeat it. This one however, I have been playing for about 7 years, so I could actually play this again.

For the math geeks, notice that 521 is prime and is = 1 (Mod 4). 5/21 is also the date that I did a lot of the work on this. It is also interesting to note that 521 is the first of a twin prime.

here it is

This piece is a little over 10 minutes long, So I wish to thank those of you up front that make it thru the entire piece. Thanks!!!

Hope you enjoy and comments are welcome.

Re: Gauss and Quadratic Reciprocity (mod 521)

Awesome, Ron!!

This is definitely you, but an increasingly polished and accomplished version of what we first heard... how long ago, now?