• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Which intel core processor ???

Share/Bookmark

Which intel core processor ???

Hi

i'm a PC musician working solo with VST plugins, piano/orchestral libraries etc. I'm in the process of purchasing a new PC but dont know which processor would be best for my needs.

I'm trying to decide between intels (core 2 duo E8300) or the (core 2 quad Q6600) i'm looking for a strong fast processor but only what would be right for my projects, could anyone comment on these processors??

Thanks
    Musicmad

Re: Which intel core processor ???

Hi,

I would recommend you to look for:
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
    or
    AMD Phenom X4 9500 processors.

They have beter performance than Intels.

Regards,
    AlexBG

Well, I can see this could become another Intel versus AMD thing but.....
    This has been my experience-

I have built a lot of DAWs and have done so for a number of years.
    I constantly research to keep up.
    I am NOT an expert but spend more time with computers than most.

Currently I am running 3 DAW systems all of which are Intel based on the E8400 with Win XP Pro 32.

At this very moment I believe the Intel is a more stable product.
    It certainly runs smoother with other outside applications that one may want for everyday use (non music)
    That being said it is best to have at least one machine dedicated to music only.

I use strictly Cubase, Kontakt, Giga and Virtual instruments and sample libraries. This new Intel chip works wonders for me.

The subject of Quad is a difficult one.
    Soon we will be there but not yet.
    I just don't believe there is sufficient support although many apps offer compatibility.

Do some more research as I'm sure you have been, ask more questions and you will get there.

Your other main consideration must be the MOBO.