• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Pole for Favorite Brass-String-W.Wind-Perc Software

Share/Bookmark

Smile Pole for Favorite Brass-String-W.Wind-Perc Software

Hi Everyone, I just joined this forum and I am fairly new to the world of sample libraries as opposed to recording live musicians. I am based in Cape Town, South Africa and have been working as a composer/producer for the last 5 years. I specialize in African, World music as well as orchestral composition.

Anyway, I've realized that it's time to invest in the best, most realistic sounding orchestral software for everything; including, brass, w.wind, perc, choir, strings, etc.

I have dabbled with the Kontakt sounds but found them very artificial sounding.

It would be very helpful to find out everyones favorite software/sample libraries in term of getting the most realistic holywood quality sounds.

I look forward to hearing you replies.

Thanks very much,

Daniel

macbook pro / logic 8 / protools 7.4 / kontakt

Re: Pole for Favorite Brass-String-W.Wind-Perc Software

*sigh* Here we go again. Every time someone asks this question, everybody recommends something different, and by the time the thread has ended, everything has been recommended at least once.

Personally I think the library is less important than the composition. With that disclaimer in mind, I'd suggest that for the type of sound you're looking for, you might want to start with East West/Quantum Leap Symphonic Orchestra, maybe supplemented with Kirk Hunter or Project SAM libraries. But listen to all the demos you can and decide for yourself.
    Dan Powers
    www.danielpowers.info

"It's easier to be a composer than it is to compose."
    --Ray Luke (1928-2010)

Quote Originally Posted by danpowers View Post
    *sigh* Here we go again. Every time someone asks this question, everybody recommends something different, and by the time the thread has ended, everything has been recommended at least once.