• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Symphonic Poem - completely renewed

Symphonic Poem - completely renewed

Good morning friends, I am back again.

Main-reference files:

1st. Respighi - Feste di Roma - Circenses (about 1 minute) - volume!!
    2nd. Respighi - Pini di Roma - Villa Borghese
    Played by the Radio Symphonic Orchestra of Bratislava.

Also used an "Introduction to the Classical Orchestra" where groups of instrumentalists played their separate parts. Useful for getting 'the sound'. And of course other material from CD.

I studied sound balances in an orchestra, the relation between woods, brass and strings. Learned a lot from this. As flutes are considered feeble, romantic, weak, this is all but necessary. They can be very pronounced in the right setting. I also took advices from a violinist, about the possibility to play loud at high notes (e.g. long notes aren't played in "a single bow"). As samples last only about 7 seconds, you will notice some "hick" somewhere. In the samples it is not as obvious as in a real orchestra. He talked about some "masking" techniques, but I cannot reproduce that in english. Barely understood it in plain dutch (it has to do with hand-wrist-elbow movement).

Symphonic Poem - The Hague - 4 parts - completely renewed rendering

This time I re-started with the raw notes, without any controller info from Overture and did it again, note by note (almost), looking at the velocity levels, CC#64 effects, overlapping (more not than often), length of the samples, and those variation controls #22/#23. FOR EVERY INSTRUMENT!!

It may not happen, but using a string KS for e.g auto-alternating up- and downbows sound different from their counterparts (Vlns 1 KS versus Vlns 1 Short Bows KS). I also noticed that using the subset of the main instrument (better to use pizzicato strings than applying F1) gave a clearer and more controlable sound. So split up your midi file!!