• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Changing hard drives how ???

Share/Bookmark

Changing hard drives how ???

Hi,

i'm purchasing a new PC in the next week and i need to find out how to transfare all the data from my old PCs hard drive to my new PCs hard drive. My current PC has two separate hard drives each of 120Gigs = 240Gigs, my new PCs hard drive will also have two separate hard drives this time of 250Gigs x 2 = 500Gigs. i'm assuming i would just burn all the HDD data to disc and then rip that data to the new hard drive, i could be wrong???

This is new for me as this is my first time in the process, could anyone comment on how this is done???

Thanks
    Musicmad

Re: Changing hard drives how ???

Buy, or borrow, an external USB drive. Copy everything to this, then copy back onto new machine. Job done and back up copy made as well.
    It will take forever copying onto DVD if youve got 240 Gb to copy

Do you have a home network setup? If not, does your old computer have a network port (the new one is almost guaranteed to have one). A $30 network hub, and use the "Files and Settings Transfer" wizard.

It is important to understand the difference between operating system, data and programs. Data you can transfer, programs need to be installed. The operating system should be set up first.

If you are buying the machine professionally, consider having the shop do the transfer for you. It will save headaches.

Also you might want to consider bigger drives if it is a matter of choice. The cost difference to double the size of those drives would be negligible.

What kind of files you want transfer?

If you work mainly making midi mockups, you will not need to transfer too much things, your project files, small if are only midi, and then install your sample lybraries.

Quote Originally Posted by marce View Post
    What kind of files you want transfer?