• Register
  • Help

Topic: Favor: Listen and advise?

Favor: Listen and advise?

Okay, I'm a newbie at this and have put in quite a lot of work on a simple violin solo. It doesn't sound bad, but there are problems that I do not know how to fix. For example, the initial attack on many of the notes are far too heavy, creating emphasis in places where I don't want emphasis.

The problem is that I've done my best so far, and have no idea how to fix the problems. Would it be possible for some of you experienced in using GPO to listen and provide input on how I can make this better?

You can find the song in question here.

ANY advice is welcome. The original score was written in Noteworthy Composer, and I imported it into Cubase SX3 to use GPO (Strad Solo KS).

Re: Favor: Listen and advise?

I am using cubase sx3 and I import into it scores I write in a notation program.
    The imported midi usually contains data that I don't want or need. So first thing I do is clean out all this data.

Open the 'edit in place' of your track, click on little icon at the bottom of the piano keys and choose 'show used controllers'.
    You will then see all the controllers that were imported with your file. You can delete all by going to:

menu>midi>functions>delete controllers

Or you can simply erase any data lane you don't want.

Now you can add the ones you need, like cc64 for a legato, which will remove the attacks.

I hope this helps.

Good morning,

listened to your piece. Yea, you are right, some beginnings are too heavy.
    What I do first, is lowering the velocity drastically when I must play non-legato (beginning of a phrase). If that doesn't help, then (and only then) I introduce CC#64 to get rid of unwanted attacks.