• Register
  • Help

Topic: Pitch bend - advice needed

Share/Bookmark

Question Pitch bend - advice needed

Hi,

I've never used Pitch Bend before and I would like to use it now with solo strings, preferably by inserting the data by hand in the List Editor (Cubase).

I've searched the forum and the net about this subject, and I have been experimenting with the wheel and hand inserting data, trying out different combinations of the parameters involved.

Only 1 trial out of around 20 gives me something that is getting close to what I know it should sound… so it’s still a mystery to me…

Any feedback is welcome and appreciated, especially screen shots of the controller’s data in any editor view and matching audio clip.

Thanks,

Yudit

Re: Pitch bend - advice needed

The only advice I can give is that its all a matter of trial and error to get the sound you want. Pitch bend is not the same as sliding from one note to another and won't sound like it. Maybe using portamento will give you more the effect you want. You can pitch bend a guitar by pulling the string to one side, I've never heard of this being done on strings but it might be possible. I tried to use pitchbend on a fast sax run where the player fingers the notes but tongues only the first. It sounded like a cat being strangled.
    Derek
    Things may come and things may go but the art school dance goes on forever
    NOW WITH Cubase 5, JABB,GPO, Fender Strat, Ibanez RG, Yamaha Fretless Bass, Framus Archtop, The Trumpet and Mr T Sax, together with GREEN SEALING WAX

Quote Originally Posted by buckshead View Post
    Pitch bend is not the same as sliding from one note to another and won't sound like it.
    In what way is sliding different from pitch bend??
    How do you create a slide?

More specific questions:

Should the bended note overlap the next note?
    Where should the bend start and end?