• Register
  • Help

Topic: Total Noob Here Who Needs Answers to Questions for Sake of Not Pulling Hair Out

Total Noob Here Who Needs Answers to Questions for Sake of Not Pulling Hair Out

Ok I will go ahead and give you my whole background so you can better understand my problem.

I am a 15 year old composer who has been blessed enough to be given parents who are supportive of my musical desires. I have good knowledge of computers and such, but extremely limited knowledge of how to get around samplers and DAWs and all of that technical stuff. I have been desperately wanting to record music for about a year now, but technical difficulties have prevented me from doing so.

Here is my setup:

Yamaha Motif XS8 ->
    Tascam US-1641 Interface ->
    Mac Pro 8 core, 16GB RAM with 4 750GB drives (3TB total) loaded with
    Logic Studio, EWQLSO Platinum Bundle, and Kontakt 3, all output through the Tascam interface to M-Audio BX8a's with a BX10s subwoofer.

I installed the EWQLSO, Logic Studio, and a few months later Kontakt 3 was the last thing to be installed. I have had no trouble whatsoever with Logic Studio (I haven't even begun to delve into Mainstage or Soundtrack Pro), and I've even successfully made 2 hip-hop songs (not my preferred genre, but I like to broaden my horizons ) in Logic Pro 8. MIDI in from my keyboard, audio from microphones, etc. all work beautifully within Logic, with the sound outputting from my monitors.

This all changes, however, when I open Kontakt 3 (as a stand-alone). In the
    Audio MIDI setup in Kontakt, it recognizes my interface as the audio output and the MIDI input. However it rarely ever recognizes when I play my keyboard, and even more rarely does the sound come through the interface and out my monitors (and this is only if I manually click the piano at the bottom of the window).