• Register
  • Help

Topic: All in all, do you reccomend the Garritan Steinway?

Share/Bookmark

All in all, do you reccomend the Garritan Steinway?

There's been a lot of talk, and a lot of cluttered up threads regarding certain issues, so I'd just like to hear in a simple description if you're happy with your purchases.

I recently got a little bit of birthday money, and although I've been holding off patiently for the basic version, I think I should just go ahead and buy the $199 version. Being a fairly serious pianist, I think that's a better decision.

I've tried Ivory, which was pretty nice, but I was never blown away by it. The demos sounded a lot better than I could ever get it to sound....

Anyways. I'd love to know if you're happy with it, and if you would recommend it to others, namely, me.

Re: All in all, do you reccomend the Garritan Steinway?

YES!

Don't mind those talks. They're very very minor issues. I've had the Steinway for over a month and my wife says I'm obsessed with it. Really, I go to it before leaving for work. When I come back in the evening, I go straight to it. No sampled piano has ever done that to me, and I have a lot of sampled pianos, including the one you mentioned.

I've been scoring a film with the basic version, and have been impressed with how good it sounds - over all of the sampled pianos that I have in my kit. I just got the Professional version in *today* and am amazed at the depth that that other perspectives are capable of. This thing is the Holy Grail of virtual pianos. The only reason you might hesitate to get it is if you're running on an older machine that *only* has enough horsepower to play back samples. If you're machine has enough "umph" to do the necessary convolution, you'll be in ebony-and-ivory heaven.
    Houston Haynes - Titan Line Music

Hallo Ethereal,

if you just have problems with the IVORY, i afraid , you will be dissapointed by the GarrtianSTeinway.