• Register
  • Help

Topic: Best playability with a minimal system

Best playability with a minimal system

I have an IBM thinkpad A31, 1.8 Ghz, 512 MB that I hope to upgrade to 2.6 Ghz, 2GB. But for now, I need advice about sampler software and piano libraries. This machine is for my non-technical wife. I set it up. She plays it. She doesn't want to hear any non-piano noises, and she would like it to be as realistic and beautifully toned as possible.

1. As the machine now stands, what sampler-library combination will likely give her the least grief?

2. As upgraded, which sampler-library combination is likely to be most rewarding?

Although I am a newbie here, I have read a good number of posts on this forum, and I do realize that there are a number of subjective preferences at work, starting with the partcular piano being sampled. What I need to find for her to begin with is a sampler/library combination that will be better than the sounds built into her Roland PT 2000 digital piano. We chose this instrument some years ago for its excellent feel, but we do want to upgrade its sound. I have a good external amplifier and fine speakers to dedicate to the piano.

Re: Best playability with a minimal system

is the current system a core2duo 1.8ghz I presume? If so, it's quite good for sample playback I think. Only problem is going to be with the hard disk. You will probably have to get an external HD that is 7200rpm to get steady output.

If not, you can try truepiano ($180), which is not sample heavy, and I think not quite as cpu intensive like pianoteq. Pianoteq will be a good choice if it isn't too much for the CPU. You can try their demo.

With a 2.5ghz core2duo, +4gb ram, you'd able to play most anything.

I think the biggest limitation of your current system is ram. Try to upgrade it, those things are cheap like cookie these days.