• Register
  • Help

Topic: TEACHING MUSIC: I have to share it with you....

Unhappy TEACHING MUSIC: I have to share it with you....

18, I say 18 years ago, I won a state contest for teaching music in public schools.

I was rated 16th ( in 300 competitors was not so bad...;-) but....

we had no free places at all (even the Nr. 1 winner had not the job...).
    The following years they were hiring less than 1 teacher per year.

I totally forgot about the episode, and never know that the list was still valid.

Actually they call my mom's house asking for me...you may imagine the surpirse...my mother telling "well, you know in 18 years things are changing..."

Now I'm a marketing manager in a big company and my salary is 3 time theacher's salary. My job has nothing to do with music, and it was always a pain for me. But I know that even if started dreaming of it, I'll never seriously afford reducing my incomes to 1/3 waiting for some slow and lucky events to recover money (e.g. composing and teaching private students).

But I know that the day I will be forced to say "No thanks" and I miss forever the option, it will be like burying a piece of my heart, a young man dream, the last chance to make my young planning become true...

Yes it's everything about money, and about feelings. But i know somebody here will understand me, and will be close to me when I'll be in front to the grave of my youth dreams.

Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: TEACHING MUSIC: I have to share it with you....

Hi Fabio,