• Register
  • Help

Topic: Newbie direction needed, please.

Share/Bookmark

Newbie direction needed, please.

I am new to sample libraries AND samplers, have Kontakt but haven't learnt it yet. Fairly new to sequencers also but bought Cubase SX version 3. It's all so overwhelming with so much to learn. My goal is to learn midi orchestration. I do know the fundamentals of music.
    Please tell me if I'm right or not.

I'm thinking I should devote all my time to learn this sequencer first, then move on. I just think it may be easier to learn things step by step because otherwise it all seems too much to me.

Any thoughts or opinions would be greatly appreciated and I thank you all.
    Richard.

Re: Newbie direction needed, please.

Hi Richard,

Welcome to this forum and the world of samples and sequencers!

I also use CubaseSX 3 and I remember how I felt when seeing it for the first time... overwhelming indeed!

In comparison to what you have to learn about sample libraries and the
    kontakt player, Cubase is more difficult, so you are right about wanting to tackle first your sequencer.

If you need assistance as you learn, just post your questions here and me or someone else will surely be able to help you out.

Good Luck with your learning and hopefully, in the near future, we'll be able to hear something from you in the listening room!

Yudit

I'm nowhere near anything...yet...But I'm learning...
    These helped me alot to get started with SX3 : https://askvideo.com/product_info.ph...ab0cdecb8b26ee

You can find lots of help here:

http://www.steinbergusers.com/cubase/cubase_btm.php

And here:

http://diyrecording.com/archives/47

There are many more free video tutorials on the net.

Yudit

Thank you all so much for your thoughts.
    I will look at those tutorial DVDs too.

Don't forget the Principles of Orchestration by Rimsky Korsakow freely available on-line from the forum is you need musical help.