• Register
  • Help

Topic: Classical music in iTunes?

Smile Classical music in iTunes?

Hey y'all,
    On Thursday I began the second year of what I believe is the equivalent to the American college, and to our disposal we all got a MacBook. Now, I've never had a mac before so I'm still learning. But I have one question. Is it just me or is iTunes not the optimal player tool for listening to classical music? I'm quite picky about playing an entire piece in the right order but iTunes it sorts everything by name, album, artist etc so it's impossible to me to just select a bunch symphonies and have them playing in the order I selected them, from the first to the last movement, like you could in windows media player. I could do like a billion playlists, one for every concerto, divertimento, serenade, symphony, quintet etc... but that just seems like such a pain in the ( )( ) (Think my library is about 4 gb)

Beside this trivial problem the mac is an awsome machine!
    I once was lost but now I'm found, was blind but now I see!
    Regards Danial Zainali
    Reinvent powdered wigs!

Re: Classical music in iTunes?

Well, you could organize the symphonies into albums and match track number to movement.

If you use iTunes to listen to any music, you must go to the iTunes preferences, and un-check the first three boxes in the "playback" settings.

Unfortunately, everyone in the world on a Mac with iTunes is listening to their music partially out of phase and hence the reverb in the recording appears to be louder because of this pathetic "sound enhancer" option.

YES, the geeks at Apple think this option should be turned on by default. Brother!

Another very frustrating thing with a Mac is the audio compression that CAN NOT be turned off while watching a DVD. Funny, there's the option to disable DOLBY dynamic range compression, but no matter what setting you use, the audio is squashed beyond belief, all the life in the music is sucked out.