• Register
  • Help

Topic: GigaSamper/GM500

Share/Bookmark

GigaSamper/GM500

I am new to the world of Software based synths, sounds and arrangers. Some of the first questions I have may already be answered. So forgive me for that.

Is it possible to set up GigaSampler and GM500 to operate in JukeBox fashion, i.e., to load the proper instruments and play a predetermined list of midi files? In my quick test today using WinAmp, it plays the list of songs without changing to the appropriate instruments. A solution to this is better than going back to the computer and closing the sequences each time and dragging a new midi file onto GigaSampler.

In a similar vane, I have not been able to successfully send program changes from my Roland A70 Controller Keyboard to change the GM500 sounds directly. Must this be done in performance mode only? Futhermore, I would like to use arranger software like Jammer Live in real time. It too is unable to send program changes to the GM500. Must the sounds be loaded in manually from a performance say, prior to playing a style with Jammer Live. If this is the case then GigaSampler/GM500 becomes unsuitable for live performance (to slow to get started with each new song, to much mouse fiddling and so on). GigaSampler/GM500 in this instance would be more useful in a studio.

Is anybody aware of good quality Roland GS compatabile Drum Sets that could be added to GM500? This would be helpful to play midi files given many of them are based on the Roland GS Standard. It would be nice if NemeSys/Conexant would setup WaveTables that met these standards and maybe even Yamaha\'s XG Standard.

Will GigaStudio solve some of my issues?

Finally, the GM500 instrument sounds to me are significantly better than those I have listen to and played on regular synths and arranger keyboards. This is even without the addition of effects.

Thank you

Frank L. Rosenthal

[This message has been edited by Frank L. Rosenthal (edited 03-16-2000).]