• Register
  • Help

Topic: Hats off to you masters

Share/Bookmark

Hats off to you masters

Have you guys ever been overwhelmed by the amount of articulations in a library? I just watched the video demo for VSL solo strings

http://vsl.co.at/en/211/442/344/350/1030/643.htm#

What a humbilng experience. So many different sounds that a violin can make. I'm a drummer. Two articulations "Hit the drum hard" and "Hit the drum harder on ladies night"

How do you know when you should use a ponticello? (didn't General Motors stop making the ponticello in '69? )

My hats off to the guys that are pushing libs like VSL to the limit. Dudes like Jay Bacal, Maarten Spruijt, Nick Phoenix, Thomas J, etc

So much to learn... but so darn inspiring!

All the very best,

Darren
    www.darrenpasdernick.com
    "Every time you play a wrong note God kills a kitten."

Re: Hats off to you masters

WOW! That is one impressive demo. Might be the most realistic solo violin I've heard in samples... Guy Bacos is definitely a talented composer/sequencer, too Interesting side-note, my girlfriend (Jillian Goldin) has worked with him a few times, providing soprano vocals for various pieces of his.
    Zircon Studios - Original music for media, electronica, sound design, and synthesis.

Nick Phoenix? He's one of VSL's enemies! (EWQL producer)

Quote Originally Posted by B.C.Johnson View Post
    Sorry to go off topic, but I can't let this go unanswered: The term "enemy" is so wrong that it hurts, especially in a thread that started with such a positive vibe.