• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: "Hidden Kingdom" (My Best Piece Yet) - Full Orchestra

Share/Bookmark

Lightbulb "Hidden Kingdom" (My Best Piece Yet) - Full Orchestra

Aha! It is complete! (As of a month ago)

Like most of the pieces posted up on here, this one has a story.

Somewhere in the 6th grade -- when I was beginning to compose in software -- I came up with a couple of fantastical melodies. I took them and made a String Orchestra piece in Finale NotePad that was a minute or so... it turned out okay.

Buahahaha! My thirteenth birthday, January 8th; I'm a much better composer, more passionate about it and composing a heck of a lot more frequently. Soooo, I order Sibelius 5 with my Christmas monies and my parents buy me GPO (Yes, yes, I know what you're thinking... kids these days, spoiled, I know. >.<)!! Exciting day for me. It takes a week or so to get shipped down here, which the whole time I'm reorchestrating and rearranging those melodies in my head. Sibelius finally arrives and I began!!!

SEVEN. MONTHS. LATER. Oh.. my... GOSH. It took so long for just six minutes! I was getting Composer's Block -- which lasted from as short as a day or so to as long as a MONTH -- every effing eight-to-sixteen measures!!!! A lot of you know how annoying this can be. Y'know, I was able to work on and complete quite a few other pieces while I was stuck on this one.. but still.

BUT, taking seven months on this... It gave me a lot of time to really think about the piece. Within this time period, my composing knowledge and skills were improving. I did quite a few edits as I went through this. Even when I went on Ohio to visit family, during the trip I was scribbling down things to add in this, things to change in this, etc.

And it really turned out to be great. This is currently my favorite piece of mine.

Soooo... seeing as how I took such so much work and time on this, I need to know!!!: What do you think... and what can be better?