• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Just joined

Share/Bookmark

Just joined

Hi all,

Was surfing around looking for a great place to hang and learn about arranging. This place is full of intellectuals and I'm looking forward to picking up a lot of tips.

I never took any formal classes on arranging. (wife, kids, college, broke) I've been self taught and do pretty well in the combo style. I wanted to undertake a larger project and hope to learn a lot by doing so.

I want to take a typical big band arrangement and convert it to concert band. I use Finale so cut and paste etc. is not a problem for various instruments.

I would like to first get some advice on which concert band instruments can duplicate the instrumentation of a big band arrangement. I would like to keep it as simple as possible to get it sounding good then I will start experimenting with re arranging and tweaking. But I would appreciate a jump start to get the best sound. I may never play it with a real band but this will be my first adventure in a larger project.

Perhaps this isn't something that can be done easily but any advice would be appreciated.

Re: Just joined

Hi cmore and welcome to the forum!

Hope you enjoy it here and learn from t the knowledgeable people here. And good luck on your project.

Looking forward to your participation.

Best wishes,

Gary Garritan

Quote Originally Posted by cmore View Post
    Hi all,

Was surfing around looking for a great place to hang and learn about arranging. This place is full of intellectuals and I'm looking forward to picking up a lot of tips.

I never took any formal classes on arranging. (wife, kids, college, broke) I've been self taught and do pretty well in the combo style. I wanted to undertake a larger project and hope to learn a lot by doing so.

I want to take a typical big band arrangement and convert it to concert band. I use Finale so cut and paste etc. is not a problem for various instruments.