• Register
  • Help

Topic: Laptop / Single 7200RPM Drive / Partition?

Post Laptop / Single 7200RPM Drive / Partition?

I have just purchased the following laptop:

Dell Studio 15 Laptop – Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T5850 2.16GHz/667Mhz FSB/2MB cache, 4GB RAM, 200GB 7200RPM Hard Drive

If I install Standard Edition on this machine, should I partition the drive so that the samples will reside on their own partition. I really do not want the hassle of an external drive for gigging.

Also, should my Cubase installation also reside on the sample partition? What about other samples (Scarbee, ManyBass, ManyGuitar)?

Sorry - I'm a noob!

Re: Laptop / Single 7200RPM Drive / Partition?

I agree with Jon - no differing opinion here!

get a 2nd hard drive (7200 rpm) - perhaps one that installs where your DVD drive is (and you interchange them - at least it works that way for me.)

I saw a good opening to chime in here. First of all, as others have said, do NOT partition your drive for the sake of putting your samples on their own partition. This is completely counter-productive. The performance will be LOWER.

However, a great idea is to make a 2nd partition for placing less frequently used and less performance-critical files, like music, images, vids, etc. This will free up room on your first partition and enable your samples to be closer to the outer drive tracks.

You may also want to consider a disk defragmenting program with file system organization features, like Disktrix's UltimateDefrag 2008. As an example of how you could use this to your benefit, you could specify that you want your OS, sample, and DAW application files/directories consolidated to the outer tracks of your primary partition, and your other app and document files consolidated to the inner tracks of your primary partition. This would leave room for you to keep adding samples to the higher-performance outer tracks.