• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: New MBP arriving; order of installs?

Share/Bookmark

New MBP arriving; order of installs?

Hello all. I'm new here and have been reading many threads with relish. Now it's time for my own; I remain unsure where to post such a question, and don't want to anger any moderators by asking the same question in multiple forums (for instance, this might have gone in hardware, but there are so few viewers by comparison). Forgive me; anyway, Garritan within the context of Finale is a top component to the question for me. The following may appear to be merely by way of introduction, but I think it's all germane to my question.

I bought a refurbished MacBook Pro - early 2008 "Penryn" 2.4GHz C2D - online just the other day at the Apple Store. I am a composer/arranger, in the classical mode, but I also have a rock band for which I do all the mixing and such (not the recording/tracking BTW, so let's not get into that).

Now, years back I had a G4 desktop running a Layla on pci slot (will have to replace obviously with FW audio interface). I ran Finale 2005 and Logic Platinum 5 (that's right, when Logic was owned by eMagic!). I used what sounds came with the programs, but mainly I used an outboard Kurzweil synth/sampler (another thing I'm going to stop using - will go happily all software now, because it's really the 21st century). This setup did me well for a time, especially with the rock stuff... then that computer, long story short, just kinda died. I (somehow) lived about two years without composing at the computer, having other needs take my attention. Any files I cared for were saved safely to an external FW drive anyway.