• Register
  • Help

Topic: Orchestrating for musical theater

Orchestrating for musical theater

I found this article online. It's a couple of months old, but the latest I've seen in a while:

Suburban NYC

Re: Orchestrating for musical theater

Thanks for sharing ... I enjoyed (and am dismayed by!) the article.

We're seeing "Gypsy" Thursday and can't wait to hear the full 25-piece orchestrations. We saw a Dinner Theater production of this show a year ago and playing this score with a rhythm section plus just one trumpet and one trombone (and two reeds) just didn't work. Conversely, I remember seeing "My Fair Lady" at this same theater years ago with the original 5-chair Reed section reduced to flute and bassoon chairs and the feel and sound of the show was excellent.

The point is, the style, genre, and feel of the show have to be supported by the orchestration or you have a disappointing mess.

Re: Orchestrating for musical theater

I am a professional actor and I get free tickets from the unions I belong to all the time. I also regularly take my teenage nieces to paying performances on Broadway and off.

The trend I have been seeing is toward smaller orchestras (for all the reasons stated in the article). This unfortunately usually takes the form of abandoning the string section, replacing it with a synth, reducing it to a string quartet and balancing the volume with mixing, or a combination of a string quartet, supplimented by synth strings.