• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: JABB CC Controller data in CAKEWALK SONAR 7

Share/Bookmark

JABB CC Controller data in CAKEWALK SONAR 7

I'm playing with my big band arrangements.

I'm new to SONAR 7 and was wondering if there was a way to copy all the CC data in a track to a different track.

I have two trumpets that I want to be playing with similar CC data and figured there has to be a way to just copy and paste the CC data from Trumpet 1 to Trumpet 2, and then just make small alterations for realism.

Re: JABB CC Controller data in CAKEWALK SONAR 7

The following may work
    Take Trumpet 1
    Make a duplicate copy say Trumpet 1a
    Remove notes, leaving the CC only
    Pick up the notes from Trumpet 2 (ctrl C you know or whatever that other make of computer does)
    Place notes in Trumpet 1a ( ctrl V)
    Important make sure you put the notes in the right place

Of course if you had Cubase, you can "Open List Edit", filter out the notes and pick up the control straight from Trumpet 1 and paste then into Trumpet 2.

You might be able to do that in Sonar, but the first method, though longer should work on any system
    Derek
    Things may come and things may go but the art school dance goes on forever
    NOW WITH Cubase 5, JABB,GPO, Fender Strat, Ibanez RG, Yamaha Fretless Bass, Framus Archtop, The Trumpet and Mr T Sax, together with GREEN SEALING WAX

Open Track 1 and select all of it. Process/Filter whichever controller you want. Edit/Copy. Open Track 2, place Now Time Cursor at the same place as it was in Track 1 and Paste. It's just like any other copy paste operation. The trick is to have the Now Time Cursor in exactly the same spot so that the CC data is pasted into the correction position on Track 2.
    Paul Baker
    Baker's Jazz And More
    Austin, Texas, USA
    www.bakersjazzandmore.com

Thanks so much for the quick responses! It sounds great!

bmdaustin,