• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: My monitors have a very disturbing echo...

Share/Bookmark

My monitors have a very disturbing echo...

Hi,

The room where I'm working with my music is rather small (3.60m x 2.70m).
    It isn’t prepared yet for the large monitors (nEar05 classic) that I have now.

Problem: my ears are suffering from too much echo, even when lowered as much as possible.

Since I have no knowledge about such things here is my question:

Is there a way to continue using these monitors but in some way reduce the echo they produce, without going through putting absorbing materials on all the walls (which I can’t afford right now)?

I'm looking for simple and quick solutions...

Thanks,

Yudit

Re: My monitors have a very disturbing echo...

Try pillows? Anything plush and absorbent should help to deaden the sound.

Quote Originally Posted by Reegs View Post
    Try pillows? Anything plush and absorbent should help to deaden the sound.
    Thanks, Reegs, for the suggestion, but I don't have enough pillows... lol

I was thinking about doing something with or around the monitors themselves.

Will it damage the monitors if I put something absorbing in front of them (about 10 cm from them)?

Or even cover them all around with enough space in between??

Actually there are DIY ways of treating your room, in order to reduce echo/reverb/bass/etc.

It would be good to have someone who knows (which is NOT me), to let you know what you need to do.

In general, one thing is a carpet on the floor. If the floor is reflecting is one of the big parts of reflection in general, so a carpet will help.

Windows should get a think (breathable though) curtain.