• Register
  • Help

Topic: Receptor

Share/Bookmark

Receptor

anybody using this product here? I'm giving it consideration but have many concerns

1) It seems to take forever to get new plugins "recepterized" Ex: BFD2, EWQLP, Altiverb, Superior Drummer (DKFH is supported but has been replaced by Superior drummer), Omnisphere, etc... all not available.

2) any time a company comes out with a new version it has to wait for Muse to get around to receptorizine it. EVERY TIME and this can months... BFD2 has been out for months and months

3) Only 2 gig ram... not enough

Help me here, what am I missing?

I'm thinking of getting a new bullet proof mac pro 8 core and would like to know if anybody here has experience with one and how many virtual instruments you can run without choking it??

Here is what I might use in a typical writing situation (I'm a composer and don't play "out" any more. Mostly jazz and Fusion

BFD2
    Altiverb
    Kontakt (black bass)
    the Trumpet (most awesome VSTI I own hands down, just buy it...)
    EWQLP (Steinway full patch)
    B4II
    Omnishpere

Will a new mac pro handle this without sinking to it's knees???

Right now my G5 2.0 4.5 gig ram can't keep up, sometimes cuts out with just EWQLP or BFD2 if I get an active song going.

Thanks for the help...

giga

Re: Receptor

in a typical session i will use one or two instances of RMX(thats 10-16 parts), 3-8 tracks of Omnisphere,Kontakt for bass, rhodes and brass, Vienna instruments for strings, a couple of EXS for generic stuff and SFX plus a whole lot of plug ins for audiotracks etc.
    On my 2.8 ghz 8 core this will give me about 30-40% of CPU usage.
    CPU power is so ridiculous high that i got into the habit of inserting Space Designers into single channels instead of using proper busses....

Right now RAM is the real bottleneck.
    Its pretty easy to max out the 3 GB that Logic allows for.

If you want to get some idea of how that sounds you can check my myspace page