• Register
  • Help

Topic: GPO New Member

Share/Bookmark

GPO New Member

Hi to all,
    I have just purchased GPO version 3 and so this is my first post on your great forum.
    I am an absolute beginner with regards to computer music, but being a guitarist I can hold down a tune and can make my way around a keyboard!!
    With regards to GPO, as a beginner I am just having great fun making my way around the different instruments using the standalone mode. I must say I am genuinely impressed by the quality of the samples thus far. I just sold my Yamaha NP30 digital piano to buy a Novation X-station 61 and the Steinway Grand sample in GPO made the NP30 sound like a toy!!
    I just have two questions regarding GPO I would like to ask....
    I managed to find out how to apply the reverb effect to the loaded instrument in the Kontakt player. However, having heard so much about convolution reverb, and noticing there was 'convolution' in the effects list, I tried to give it a go but noticed there were no presets to select from as there is using the normal reverb effect. Am i doing something wrong?
    My second question relates to Multi's. Can someone please explain how to use these. As an example, if I load the first multi in the list (01 Woodwind Quintet), should I be hearing all five instruments when I play a note on my keyboard. At the moment all I hear is the first instrument in the multi (Flute Solo KS). Also what does 'Replace Multi, pressing NO will merge in the new instruments' mean?
    I'm sure I am doing something wrong, but if anyone could help that would be great!
    For info I am using GPO Version 3 which has Kontakt player version 2.2.3.003
    Any other tips for a beginner would be welcome. As I mentioned earlier, I am not using any other software at the moment, but I do have Cubase 4 Essential Edition, which I will load once I get my head around the basics with GPO.
    Thanks for your help.

Re: GPO New Member

Hello and welcome to the forum.