• Register
  • Help

Topic: Looking for instruction Harmony/Arranging in DC area

Share/Bookmark

Looking for instruction Harmony/Arranging in DC area

[Oops....posted this in wrong thread...will copy this in the right one. Sorry...]

Greetings,

I'm looking for someone (or an organization) who could provide individual or group instruction in harmony, arranging, and composing. I live in the DC area (in Alexandria). I know of a few places I'll be calling (e.g., Levine School of Music, George Mason Univ., local musician's union), but any names of good people to work with or good leads to follow would be great.

I am a guitarist (less of jazz, more of pop and folk), and I have studied a fair bit of theory. I am currently working my way through Gordon Delamont's "Modern Harmonic Technique," and what I really need is someone who can encourage me and check my work as I move along in my studies. This book has been perfect for me (as Piston's, for example, was just to academic, and too thick with classical references...)...but whatever book my tutor suggests will work fine for me. I just want to learn!

Any suggestions?

Many thanks,

Fox

Re: Looking for instruction Harmony/Arranging in DC area

Contact me. I'm just south of Richmond and I have an entire curriculum I can put you through privately depending on your goals.

Just PM me.

Peter Alexander
    Peter L. Alexander
    www.professionalorchestration.com
    www.alexanderpublishing.com
    Learn it right the first time.

I would very highly recommend studying Lyle Murphy's System of Horizontal Composition (a.k.a. the "Equal Interval System") with David Blumberg. You can read a bit about it at www.equalinterval.com.

The website is a little cryptic, so I'll share a little bit about the material. First of all, the course is NOT about "tonal harmony" or serialism, nor is it a shortcut or a gimmick.