• Register
  • Help

Topic: String Quartet

Share/Bookmark

String Quartet

I know this piece will be difficult for many of you, but I've been taking a class with A teacher who studied with Elliot Carter. We have been working on "freeing up the notes" trying to make barlines disappear and give the piece more 'elasticity'. He is very pleased with this piece I have written as am I. Yes, it's academic, but in its own right, it has a haunting and lonely quality to it. Structure is free as is tonality. There are no bounds or forced restrictions. Parts are alleatoric (freely played by the performer) and parts are notated. It was really fun trying to get Finale to do the alleatoric sections ().

Anyways, have a listen to

String Quartet No.1 Opus 1: Movement I

No, I am not a mental patient, I am a musician (hmm, I guess I am a mental patient!
    We dream to write and we write to dream.

Challenge #10 Winner

Re: String Quartet

Bill

This has some fantastic moments in it.

You are right that it is not for everyone. Of course I like it, but I am out there as well.

I don't quite understand why, but at times it seems like you have 5 instruments playing at once. 3 in the left side and 2 in the right.

It's probably just the extra notes that are running around in my head.

Well done

Ron
    "Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one." Albert Einstein

http://composersforum.ning.com/profile/RonaldFerguson

Quote Originally Posted by rolifer View Post
    Bill
    I don't quite understand why, but at times it seems like you have 5 instruments playing at once. 3 in the left side and 2 in the right.Ron
    I made extensive use of double stops to create that effect.

I am glad you enjoyed as I knew you would be one of the first to give it a try.

Thanks for listening to my feeble attempt to mimic Elliot Carter.

Bill

Challenge #10 Winner

It's different isn't it. I've heard music that is sort of like this but probably with more structure.