• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: New to GPO...Thinking of buying it.

Share/Bookmark

New to GPO...Thinking of buying it.

Hello,
    I'm new to using orchestral software and orchestra arrangements in general. I am a guitarist recording at home and mainly writing and recording rock music. I would like to add some orchestral arrangements to my music to make it 'bigger'. I don't know if you guys are familiar with Symphony X. They use orchestral arrangements in their music.
    I'm checking out different softwares for my needs and would like to know what you guys can recommend me. I really don't need 100 samples per note and extra fine articulations. I will not write classical music. I need a good string and percussion section along with some horns to mainly play together in an ensemble in order to fatten up certain areas of the song and make them more dramatic.
    Is GPO the way to go?
    I will appreciate detailed answers like CPU and RAM usage, how good sounding is it (are there demo songs to listen to?), how is tech support? etc...
    I'm on a Q6600 PC, 2GB of RAM.

Thank you very much for your help.

Thumbs up Re: New to GPO...Thinking of buying it.

What's to think about? Haven't you heard the demo's and especially the new 2008 Garritan Christmas CD?
    Let me say this, all around, you can't go wrong.

Re: New to GPO...Thinking of buying it.

We do Rock n Roll and I use GPO for the orchestra that backs up the band. Here is a link to Steve Vaile's Myspace page that will give you and idea of the sound we do: http://www.myspace.com/stevevaileandfriends

I do the Drums, Bass Guitar, Organ, Synthesizers and Orchestra. I also do some of the recording and all the mixing & mastering.

Hey, this beats working for a living.

I highly recommend GPO.

The orchestra is the only thing we use GPO for, everything else we have and play it.
    Last edited by Hippie; 12-01-2008 at 12:32 PM. Reason: Because I forgot to type something