• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Mac or PC ??

Share/Bookmark

Mac or PC ??

Hi,

Could anyone recommend which platform one should use with regards to being a PC musician, I'm trying to decide between Mac or PC. At current I'm running on Windows XP-SP2 but due to bugs viruses hackers etc, I'm tired of the ongoing issues with a PC. It seems i have to run my antivirus software applications at least twice a week to keep the system clean, even then there are still minor issues.

What is the arrangement using an audio sound card with a Mac? at present i have a PCI soundcard installed in my desktop, but given all the components of a Mac are built in to the back of its monitor, i can only assume a external USB soundcard would be the way to go, am i right??

Cheers
    Musicmad.
    Music.. the many characters of how God speaks to us all

Re: Mac or PC ??

I've been running PC's for years with very few virus hits which usually come through emails. My virus scanners have always cleaned these. Beware that a MAC can get viruses no matter what the ads say. They are also prone to malware which is more prevalent today than viruses. If you keep your security updates up to date and stay with safe websites, then you should have very few problems. One of the main issues today is junk you get in emails especially greeting cards. I always delete greeting card emails without opening them and then let my relatives know to quit sending these to me. Also, I let the relatives and friends know that I don't want forwarded emails with jokes, virus alerts, etc sent to me. Many of these are infected emails.

Maybe you just need to do a clean install on your PC to clean out the extra junk that piles up over time. Then install just what you need. Make sure you backup any files that might be needed first. Since you already have a PC, try it first.

Jim

Hi Haydn, thanks for your feedback, appreciated..

Musicmad
    Music.. the many characters of how God speaks to us all