• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: Going into the world of music - I need advice!

Going into the world of music - I need advice!

Okay, so I'm a sophomore in High School, and I really wanna be a composer. I know it's really hard to just be a composer, so I think I have three options:

1) Music Education w/ composition on the side.
    2) Music Production w/ composition on the side.
    3) Film/Video Game composing (I listen to film composition for big, money-making movies, and I think, "I can write that!" So I figured, why not?)

Does anyone have any advice/knowledge that they could share with me that could make this really difficult decision any easier? I think I wouldn't many any of the three, but I don't have enough information yet to decide.

Re: Going into the world of music - I need advice!

Do not box yourself in.

I'm not in any of those fields, however in my experiences with those here, on other boards, and in real life, a music ed degree is probably the best choice, as in you'll have the most options and places to fall back on after school. Production and scoring fields are extremely saturated, competitive markets, and the quality and quantity of your connections is one of the most important, if not the most important factor to success in those fields. Sure you can write like the composers, but do you know the producer to land you the gig?

Have you considered being just a composer on the side and majoring/studying in something completely different (if another field of study equally interests you)? Across this forum you'll find very talented composers who are engineers, software programmers, anthropologists, nurses, and accountants.

You don't need to have officially studied music as a major in college to consider yourself a composer. The beauty of college studies is that you can take courses across the spread (like theory and composition, if that's your worry). You ask at a good time.