• Register
  • Help

Topic: Control midi data via keyboard

Share/Bookmark

Control midi data via keyboard

I have a midi keyboard with tons of assignable sliders and knobs.
    Now, I know you can assign them to act like a control station to handle various functions in Cubase but what about virtual instruments?

How should I look at this as I've never done it before.
    Should the keyboard just control Cubase or should it control my virtual synths and what about sample libraries? Any use in doing that?

Any thoughts would be appreciated muchly.

Re: Control midi data via keyboard

Yes, in many instances some VSTi parameters can indeed be controlled by a MIDI controller. Please consult the manuals for the VSTi(s) you have purchased, and if their parameters can be controlled in that manner, you will see a list of which CC message controls which function. The new CC121 controller from Steinberg expands upon the concept and adds additional controls for VST3 plug-ins. In brief, this is one of the reasons why your controller has all those knobs and sliders ...............playz
    Cubase 7.0.3, Wavelab 7.1, Omnisphere, Trilian, Stylus RMX, Symphobia 1 & 2 , all Spitfire libraries, LASS 2, Requiem Pro, Voxos, Superior Drummer 2, Komplete 8, Cinematic Guitars, most EW libraries, Chris Hein Horns, Guitar & Bass, 2.8 GHz Mac Pro, 18 GB RAM, OS 10.6.8, RME Multiface II + HDSP PCIe

Quote Originally Posted by playz123 View Post
    Yes, in many instances some VSTi parameters can indeed be controlled by a MIDI controller. Please consult the manuals for the VSTi(s) you have purchased, and if their parameters can be controlled in that manner, you will see a list of which CC message controls which function. The new CC121 controller from Steinberg expands upon the concept and adds additional controls for VST3 plug-ins. In brief, this is one of the reasons why your controller has all those knobs and sliders ...............playz
    I understand and thank you for your trouble.