• Register
  • Help

Topic: Tips for improving concentration/memory whilst playing ?

Share/Bookmark

Tips for improving concentration/memory whilst playing ?

sponsored links

***Advertisments***
    For a long time now I've been aware that my concentration and memory levels whilst playing are absolutely dreadful. Today was a classic example: I started writing a new piano piece, which was not that difficult, and I was pretty much unable to play it from start to finish without hitting a wrong note or suddenly going blank on what was the next note or chord.

I'm not consciously aware that I'm not concentrating on playing or where the hand should be moving next, but in many cases I "knew" what I should have just played but somehow didn't do it.

Are there any tips, techniques which might help me ? I've been playing now for over 20 years, professionally for 15 (in the studio, not live) so I really should be better at this by now. I must admit my head is permanently full of a million things, so that doesn't help and I'm 100% selt-taught. But I'm getting desperate now ...

Any ideas gratefully received.
    Intel DP35DPM // Intel Core 2 Quad Q-6600
    MSI 8600 //
    4gb Corsair XMS2 PC6400
    RME MADI // Sony DMX-R100

http://myspace.com/richardanthonyjay

Re: Tips for improving concentration/memory whilst playing ?

Well.... This is a common problem I think.
    I'm not sure what the real answer is here but I do know this much.

I have a golden rule that I set for myself, I stole it from Jeff Rona who probably stole it from someone else and so on.

The number one issue is to set aside some time each day where you WON'T be interrupted, turn off the phone and record 2 minutes of music each day. Now to get 2 minutes that is ready for editing (therefore it sounds pretty good) it may take up to an hour or 2.