• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: odd volume thing

Share/Bookmark

odd volume thing

Hey guys,
    Did a search on this, but I couldn't find anything so.. So I have an m-audio keystation controller, and I'm a bit perplexed (I'm new to it all). When I load an instrument, I'll get a nice good volume if I just test it on the on-screen keyboard. But depending on which instrument I try, I get varying degress of unsatisfactory volume if I play those same notes from the m-audio controller. Even when I've got my soundcard up on high, I crank up the onscreen volume, and the volume on the m-audio, something like percussion, while it's loud and crisp and clear when I press a key down on the screen, is practically inaudiable.. I'm worried actually that it's my keyboard that's the problem, because the volume slide doesn't make any kind of difference even on the audiable instruments. And if it was faulty when I bought it a couple of months ago, but I haven't noticed until now when I've managed to get it all working, I bet a refund won't be so easy (I maybe I have a warrenty? hrmm..). However - am I overlooking anything? Is there anything I can do in garritan to get that same volume I get on the screen through my midi controller?

Re: odd volume thing

Hi, Just in case.....are you turning up the mod wheel on your keyboard?

Well I've tried it out but while it makes a little difference in something like an oboe (which I hear alright anyway), it does nothing for percussion. Percussion is the most difficult to hear, but the pianos are a lot lower than onscreen too..

Actually, I change my mind - I don't think the volume slide is broken, because while it doesn't make a difference to the volume that comes through to me, I see the little midi symbol on screen (midi channel) light up when I touch it, so it's there, it's not totally dead.