• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: An Invitation

Share/Bookmark

An Invitation

So, if anyone happens to be in Terre Haute next Wednesday, and you need something to do, I'd like to invite you to my faculty composition recital at Indiana State University. I hesitate to admit this, but this will be the first composition recital I've given since I was a graduate student, something like 25 years ago!

Sadly, no Garritan products will be involved, but you'll get to hear a duet for alto saxophone and cello, a couple of settings of Walt Whitman poems, three arrangements of spirituals, two piano pieces, and a saxophone quartet. There may also be one additional piece, depending on whether or not I can finish it in time!

It'll be in the recital hall in the music building, corner of 7th and Cherry streets, at 7:30. Wish me luck!
    Dan Powers
    www.danielpowers.info

"It's easier to be a composer than it is to compose."
    --Ray Luke (1928-2010)

Re: An Invitation

Good Luck Dan. I am confident that it will go fine. I would love to be there but my teaching schedule will not allow the short trip from Cleveland to Terre Haute. So, I send my best and hope you will post at least one of your live pieces for all of us in the forum to enjoy.

[Music is the Rhythm, Harmony and Breath of Life]
    "Music is music, and a note's a note" - Louis 'Satchmo' Armstrong

Rich

Go Dan! And best of luck on your recital! John

Gee, Dan...
    I wish I could attend...I have been hoping we cross paths sometime.
    What became of the bass trombone-euphonium piece? Did it indeed change title?

Jim
    Jim Williams
    Professor of Capitalism
    N9EJR
    Indianapolis Brass Choir
    All Your Bass Sus&Short Are Belong to Us.

Good luck Dan. I know the recital will be a
    great one. Wish I could attend also.

My parting thought.............WORK ON THE
    PIANO CONCERTO........It's a good work and
    your wife is super at playing it.

Jack